And a Happy New Year (“I Did It My Way–surfer’s version”)

Looks like 2013 going to start off with a nice bang…and possibly a few new Christmas boards broken.

swell bang

Usually this time of year we get cyclone swells, not these South Indian Ocean ground swells. If this is a consequence of global warming, it’s the silver lining thing.

I seem to be spending time lately fiddling around with other people’s creative works instead of writing my own. Here’s another Sinatra classic, surfing version. (I’m not maudlin in my dotage, I’ve just been researching that era, with its songs).

The original of “I Did It My Way”

“I Surfed it My Way”:

And now, the end is here
And so I face the final wipeout
My friend, I’ll say it clear
I’ll state my case, of which I’ve no doubt
I’ve lived a life that’s full
I sought the capes and shores of each bay
And more, much more than this, I surfed it my way

Flat spells, I’ve had a few
But then again, too few to mention
I did what I had to do and surfed each wave without pretension
I sailed each unknown sea, hiked each jungle pathway
And more, much more than this, I surfed it my way

Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew
When I paddled out without a clue
But through it all, when there was doubt
I took the drop and wore the wipeout
I faced it all and I stood tall and surfed it my way

I’ve bled, I’ve starved and sweated
I’ve had onshores, my share of drop-ins
And now, I’m all dinged up, just like my faithful single-fin
To think of all we did
And may I say, not in a SUP way,
“Oh, no, oh, no, not me, I surfed it my way”

For what is a surfer, what has he got?
If not himself, then he has naught
To surf the waves he found himself and not the ones on Surfline’s shelf
The record shows I rode the nose and surfed it my way!

Yes, it was my way

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And a Happy New Year (“I Did It My Way–surfer’s version”)

  1. Bukit Bear says:

    Lol! Happy New Year to you – lets hope it’s a good one 🙂

Leave a Reply

