Gone dark….(well, gone to Singapore)

Your blog correspondent is in Singapore doing a few things one can’t do here, also hoping to meet up with Very Important Book-type People.

I’ve been been going to Singapore from way back when it was part of the states of Malaysia (it became independent in 1965, I do believe). Mostly in transit to boarding school. Once it was in transit to the States with my family. I was seven or eight. Back then, Orchard Road still had orchards, and the business districts were two-story Chinese shop houses, a few streets of which are now considered a historic heritage. Being a large poor family, we stayed at the YMCA which had the first bottle vending machine I ever saw. I had my first Coca-Cola right out of that machine. Sukarno had banned Coke from Indonesia for being too Nekolim (neo-colonialist-imperialist). A few years later, we could get 7-Up, sold in Kuta warungs (pre-Jenik warung days, if anybody remembers her stall at the beach end of the dirt road there), but without ice. Too sweet for me. I preferred yeh tawar, water straight from the jug, with its firewood flavoring. These were communal earthenware jugs with a long thin spout, and you drank by spouting the water direct into your mouth and without any lip-locking going on. There was an art to it.

coke machine

Anyway, the Coke. Glorious and cold, sure to taste like heaven in a bottle. With great anticipation, I popped the cap and took a swig and … spat it out. The carbonation surprised me. I hated it.

I’ll drink it now and again, but still don’t like it much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gone dark….(well, gone to Singapore)

  1. Pete says:

    I agree about Coke. I am amazed that anyone drinks it. PS I like the stuff you post and never knew about 1965 until I saw your information. Thank you. Pete

Leave a Reply

